Leaving…..

Daily writing prompt
Describe a decision you made in the past that helped you learn or grow.

If you can believe it, I was once married. We were together for 7 years total, but only married for 3. The signs were there before we got married. But I thought things would change. I don’t usually talk bad about him, even now. But after our divorce, he married again and did the same things to her. Ask me how I know…..

She sent me a message on Instagram and told me I dodged a bullet. No, I got hit by that bullet a few times. But I got to the point where I was tired of being shot up and left it. They had been married for 6 months and she received a message from another woman with pictures of him and this woman. The woman told her she thought he was divorced but he was not.

But I got to the point where I was tired of being a detective in my own home. I felt like it was making me look and feel desperate like I could do better than to stay with someone who constantly lied to me. Who on the brink of divorce, didn’t care enough to change. So I made the decision to leave the marriage. I am not perfect, never professed to be, but I did not violate my marriage.

BEST decision I could have made for myself. Is living on your own hard, yes, paying all the bills, making sure your car is in working order but it’s a liberation that I cannot explain. I am taking care of myself and that’s what counts.

So to anyone who is struggling in a relationship, it’s OK to leave a situation that no longer serves. If it makes you feel less than, if it hurts you day to day, if you feel desperate, it’s OK to leave and fill your soul back up.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.